Fresh Beat Band Concert Review

Marina, Shout, Lauren, Kiki and Twist

My daughter is a huge Fresh Beat Band fan. If you are not sure who they are, check out Nickelodeon or Nick Jr sometime. They are a pop band that does a kid show. The good thing about the show is that they don’t talk down to kids and give them a real love for music. I have become a fan of them myself.

When I heard the Fresh Beats were going on tour, I knew I had to get tickets. So in November, I logged into Ticketmaster, forked over $240 for two VIP tickets. It is a lot of money but I knew it would be an experience that my little one would never forget.

The concert was Friday at the Flint Center in Cupertino. We arrived about 45 minutes before the start of the concert. I spent another $60 for two t-shirts and a glow wand. (Mommy can’t say no!) We had to stand in line for our VIP package wristband. The VIP package gave us posters, laminated VIP cards and the opportunity to meet the band and get a picture after the concert. Once we got our wrist bands, it was off to our seats. FRONT ROW!!! We sat in the very front row just right of center. I was worried when I got the tickets that we would be too close to the stage for Lauren to see anything. Not the case. There was at least five feet from our seats to the stage. Plenty of room for all the little ones to get up and dance.

The concert was supposed to start at 6:30pm but the Fresh Beats didn’t take the stage till about 6:45p. Plenty of time for all the little ones to work themselves into a frenzy. The curtain opened and the opening theme song with no lyrics started. The stage was minimal. Just the band’s instruments set up on a riser toward the back of the stage, giving plenty of room to dance in front. The band came out and sang the opening theme song from the show. They looked amazing.

The concert was good. Now to be a bit critical, the band was singing to taped tracks and sometimes they were lip syncing. Can’t blame them too much for the lip syncing. They spent the whole concert dancing. They played a good selection of songs from the CD, talked to the crowd. They did take a 15 minute intermission. This was good for my little one, since she danced nonstop for the first half of the show. The second half of the show was the big hits for them, like Rock Star, Here We Go and then of course they closed the show with their signature show closing song, Great Day.

Lauren danced the whole time. The band was very interactive with the crowd. She was able to shake hands with Kiki and Twist.

After the show was over, the parents who forked over the big bucks for VIP tickets were ushered into a patio area. All the parents were handed a letter tickets which they would call out for you to line up to get your picture taken with the band. It was very organized and assured the worried parents and kids that everyone would get a turn. They had water and snacks set out which were quickly grabbed up. There was a little play area with a floor piano and a tunnel structure for the kids to crawl around in. There were two craft areas, for kids to create their own silver “rock” stars to take home. There was a dress up area where you could try on rock star outfits, play blowup guitars and bang on some bongo drums. There was a DJ spinning Fresh Beat tunes if you hadn’t gotten enough of them at the concert. At the back of the patio area, they had a nice backdrop for the band to pose for pictures.

Once everyone was in, the Fresh Beat Dancers (who are amazing) came out and taught a little bit of the Great Day dance. Kids and parents joined in. Then the big event, out came the Fresh Beat Band. The DJ then called out the first letter to line up for pictures. Parents be warned if you are going, no autographs, and you will have to take the picture yourself. They do not allow staff to do it. They do allow enough time to the children to talk with the band then a picture.

We were one of the last groups to line up for pictures and were second to last in line. I was worried that the band was going to be tired by the time we got there but I was so wrong. Each band member greeted Lauren like she was a long lost friend. Lots of hugs and smiles. They asked her questions and engaged her into a whole conversation. Thank god, I remember to bring my video camera and had it rolling. They even spoke to me. Saying they saw me grooving along and singing (which I was.) Kiki got up and gave me a hug. It was just the sweetest experience ever. Lauren just glowed and I couldn’t stop smiling. We got an amazing picture to capture the moment. We left the picture area and stuck around to see the band leave. They got up and waved to people. Lauren remembered that she wanted to tell Kiki about learning to play the guitar. She ran back, passed the security line and right up to Kiki who got down to Lauren’s level and listen so intently to what she was saying. She looked genuinely touched that Lauren is learning guitar because of her. She gave her the biggest hug. Lauren floated for the rest of the night. In her words, “BEST NIGHT EVER!!” I agree. I had a really good time and was impressed on how compassionate and wonderful the band was with every child they came through the line.

The only downfall to this whole experience is now Lauren is going to expect every concert to be this wonderful. Front row, meet the band, get hugs and general love from the band. Not sure anyone is ever going to top that. So thank you, Kiki, Marina, Twist, Shout and the amazing dancers for giving my daughter and me a night that we will never forget. It was a Great Day!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Kristen  On February 16, 2012 at 9:46 pm

    Man! I KNEW I SHOULD HAVE GOTTEN THE VIP TICKETS!! I am taking my 2 year old daughter to the show in May and she LOVES the FFB. I wanted to do the VIP, but my husband “talked me off the ledge”. Now I am just sick. Thanks for the great review. I absolutely can not wait to see my daughter’s face and experience it with her.

    • kathie smallwood  On April 25, 2012 at 6:04 pm

      you can get upgrade tickets to go to the party.

  • Kerrie  On March 11, 2012 at 2:03 am

    Can I ask how many people were at the meet and greet? Also, were there any older kids at the show? My son is 10 and has autism. We are going in 2 weeks and I just know he’s going to stick out like a sore thumb! We have been going to Laurie Berkner shows for 8 years and finally stopped because of it, but he loves FBB and has never seen them so I’m taking him! I’m just wondering if ther were any older kids at the show you went to, or was it all 3-5 year old fans? Thanks

    • laurensmom  On March 11, 2012 at 3:10 am

      Kerrie,
      There were about 100-150 at the meet and greet. Hard to tell the ratio of parents to kids. There were older kids at the show and the meet and greet. We sat next to two moms who had a 10 year old, a 7 year old and 3 year old. The 10 and 7 year old were up there dancing right along and singing. So I think you son will be fine. When you go to the VIP room, let the VIP personal know that your son is autistic and they may give you some special treatment so its not so overwhelming for him. I know we had a couple of kids in wheelchairs that they let go first. When we were standing in line for the meet and greet, there was one boy who was just so overwhelmed he wasn’t quite ready to meet the Fresh Beats. They held him back in line and at the end the Fresh Beats came to him and it seem to work for him. I hope you and your son have a blast. Please let me know how it goes!!

      • Kerrie  On March 11, 2012 at 7:16 pm

        Thanks for the info! I’m even more excited now! My son keeps asking to go but really doesn’t have a concept of time. I keep showing him on the calender, March 24. It’s going to be a LONG two weeks!

      • Kerrie  On March 31, 2012 at 1:36 am

        We had a BALL!! The band was great with my son, even after he tried to lift Kiki’s skirt and rubbed her legs. He has a thing for stockings and hers were such a bright pink I guess he couldn’t control himself. She was so sweet. She held down her skirt then stuck out the lower part of her leg and let him have a rub!

  • Sandra  On March 15, 2012 at 6:56 am

    I loved your review of the concert. And I too have become a fan of them. I find myself singing some of their tunes even when my kids (4 & 1) aren’t around. My son, sister, niece and I went to the kick off show in Anaheim. WE HAD A BLAST. I waited too long to get the tickets and had to buy them at a premium at Stub Hub. They were a bit pricey, but so completely worth it. I wish I would have bought the tickets when they first announced the shows and bought the VIP package. My son wants to learn how to play the guitar too. We bought their CD and play it a few times a week. The moment my daughter (1) hears any of the songs playing, she waddles over to the CD player and starts dancing. I love it. I thank the Fresh Beat Band for helping us create such special memories.

  • makariostx  On April 22, 2012 at 9:19 pm

    How long was the concert? Thanks

    • laurensmom  On April 24, 2012 at 1:45 pm

      It was about 80 minutes total including about a 15-20 minute intermission. Bring water. Your little one will need it at intermission with all the dancing they do. Have fun!

    • Kerrie  On April 24, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      It was about 90 minutes, which includes a 15 minute intermission

  • Kerrie  On April 24, 2012 at 1:46 pm

    We were all over that presale and are going back in September!

  • Anonomas Chicken  On June 20, 2012 at 8:33 pm

    Aww, so cute. I would love to get the V.I.P passes.

  • Kate  On July 31, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    It was fun reading your review! We went to the show in Boston and my 2 year old loved it.

  • spinning rods  On August 6, 2012 at 12:51 am

    Excellent article. I certainly love this site. Continue the good work!

  • Mr. K  On September 14, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    going tonite, thanks for all the updates, got an idea of what to expect now.

  • Søgemaskine optimering Guide  On March 26, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    I do not write a ton of responses, however i did a few searching and wound up here
    Fresh Beat Band Concert Review | SJ Working Mom’s Blog. And I do have a couple of questions for you if you usually do not mind. Could it be only me or does it look as if like some of the remarks appear like they are coming from brain dead people? :-P And, if you are posting at other social sites, I would like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you list of every one of your social pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  • Stephanie  On January 2, 2014 at 1:03 pm

    Did you ask for an autograph, and they declined? I wanted to bring a couple pictures and a sharpie to get their autographs for my twins’ scrap books.

    • laurensmom  On January 3, 2014 at 11:28 am

      When we went is specifically says NO AUTOGRAPHS. They also said it again just before the FBB came out for the meet and greet.

      • Gloria  On September 6, 2014 at 1:28 pm

        Your review was great!! I really enjoyed reading it :) I realize it was from a few years ago but I found it very helpful. I just purchased tickets for my son and I for their concert in January! I can’t wait!! He loves to dance to their music. Unfortunately, they are sold out of VIP tickets but we have pretty good seats. I have a question for you, when the fresh beats came to the crowd to high five kids during concert how far up did they go? My seats are right after the VIP seats on the second section. Thanks! :)

      • laurensmom  On September 8, 2014 at 9:27 am

        Hi Gloria,

        If I remember right, Shout and Twist went pretty far into the audience to dance and high five kids. They may have changed it up since we went but they are very fan friendly. I hope you and your son have a blast!

Trackbacks

  • […] up the internet trying to get tickets when they go on sale, here are some things you should know.  Here is a link to my revue of February’s concert in Cupertino. The VIP tickets are well worth the price.  You are seated in the first 10 rows of the venue.  […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

