My Mid-life Crisis

I have found myself with some free time lately which is unheard of as a working mom. But this working mom is not working. I recently quit my job. It was one of the hardest things I have done in a very long time. The job was just not the right fit. Between being miserable at work and making the one hour and 15 commute one way every day, I just couldn’t do it anymore. So my wonderful hubby and I crunched the numbers and found I could quit and “find myself” for a few months before I needed to go back to work. So here I am doing the stay at home thing

I am calling this period in my life my mid-life crisis. I turned 40 this past November without much fanfare. I am fortunate that because of genetics, I don’t look 40 but I can say I feel 40. Just rundown and tired.
I have spent over the past 20 years working in broadcast journalism. I got into journalism because I wanted to be a sportscaster. Now at the time I decided to do this, there were hardly any women doing sports on TV. That didn’t sway me. I am used to being dismissed as a woman then knocking men back with my knowledge of sports. Along the way of studying journalism at Fresno State University, I found out that all the things I love about journalism (finding, researching and breaking the story) could be done from behind the camera. My career was born. Now after 20 years of working as an assignment editor, producer and guest booker, I am not sure I want to do it anymore. I really don’t know what I want to be when I grow up.

I know getting married and having a daughter changed things for me. Before the hubby and the kid, I didn’t mind working long hours, holidays and weekends. Now, I just want to be there for my family. I know every working mom has said this, but I want it all, a good job that can balance with my home life. Yeah, good luck with that. I really don’t know one woman or man who can say they have the perfect balance between home and work. Some have it close. I would like to at least try to find it.

As I go through my “mid-life crisis,” I will be figuring out what my next move will be. Is it PR, or back to TV? I am not sure. But it will be a hell of a ride figuring it out. In the meantime, I will enjoy my time with my daughter and being a domestic goddess at home. Martha Stewart watch out.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • John Zuchelli  On February 25, 2011 at 10:02 pm

    Sabrina, what ever you do you will do well.

  • Vicky  On February 26, 2011 at 4:30 am

    Looking forward to reading about your next phase. If you write as candidly as you talk, we’re in good shape.

  • Phyllis  On February 26, 2011 at 4:02 pm

    You are smart and caring. Quite a combination. Whatever you decide to do, it’ll be good because you’re doing it for the right reasons.

Leave a Reply

